Tuesday, April 23, 2013

BLOG TOUR: An Affair to Dismember by Elise Sax


Thanks to Bewitching Book Tours for hosting this blog tour. I have Elise Sax sharing some matchmaking letters. Welcome and happy reading!

*****************************

Grandma Zelda loves to give matchmaking advice. Why shouldn’t she? She the most successful matchmaker the town of Cannes has ever seen, and she knows things that can’t be known. Her granddaughter Gladie wishes she would have half the talent of her grandmother. Here is an example of Zelda’s relationship advice:

Dear Zelda,

My daughter is finally going to start dating, again, after getting divorced last year. I offered to take her shopping for a new outfit for her first date, but she says she’s just going to wear something comfortable. I want her to look nice, but she says if she feels comfortable, she will be more attractive than if she was wearing something fancy. How do I convince her to let me dress her?

--Julie


Dear Julie,

First of all, I want you to know that you are completely right. No man in the history of the world has given a hoot if a woman’s clothes are comfortable or not. Men want women in high heels and tight skirts, and they don’t waste a second worrying if their possible soul mate has blisters on her toes or if the button on her waistband is digging into her belly. So, if your daughter wants to make an impression, she needs to throw away the fakakta yoga pants, put a couple Bandaids on her feet and seize the day on her first date. But Julie, you are not going to take her shopping. YOU are going to stay out of it and bite your tongue. At most, you are going to give her money to buy her own outfit. This is your daughter’s journey, not yours. She has to make her own mistakes and victories. So, stay out of it. Don’t be a yenta. Get your shoulder ready for her to cry on, but don’t say “I told you so.” I know it’s hard. No one ever said being a mother was easy. It starts with labor and gets harder from there.

--Zelda


Dear Zelda,

I’m pretty sure the neighbor watches me when I garden in the front yard, and he’s really cute. How do I get his attention?

--Karen


Dear Karen,

If he’s watching you garden, bubeleh, you’ve already gotten his attention, unless he’s just trying to get gardening tips. If you’re reasonably sure he’s not a serial killer or a peeping Tom, the next time you weed or prune, wave and say hi. Maybe offer him an iced tea. I have a feeling he’ll accept. You already know he’s a homeowner. That’s better than 90% of the shnorers out there, let me tell you. Tend this garden, and love will bloom.

--Zelda


*****************************

About the Author
Elise Sax worked as a journalist for fifteen years, mostly in Paris, France. She took a detour from journalism and became a private investigator before trying her hand at writing fiction. She lives in Southern California with her two sons. An Affair to Dismember, the first in the Matchmaker mystery series, is her first novel.

Find the author:
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads


Grave Intentions Available Now!

Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax’s hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.

Three months has been Gladie Burger’s limit when it comes to staying in one place. That’s why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family’s matchmaking business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. What’s more, Gladie is also highly unqualified, having a terrible track record with romance. Still, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has “the gift.” But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.

When Zelda’s neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family’s drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor’s death was murder. It’s not too long before she’s in way over her head—with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she’s unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued—either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?


***Up for grabs on this tour are four $25 Amazon Giftcards. Enter via the Rafflecopter below!***

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment: